Loading Events

Beethoven’s Second Piano Concerto with Paul Lewis

Part of: Carnegie Hall Orchestra Series

 Thursday, February 28 2019  8:00pm  Carnegie Hall - Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage Directions

Ticketing Information

Tickets starting at $36

Haydn’s craftsmanship, melodic mastery, and sharp wit inspired generations of composers after him, including Mozart and Beethoven. Bernard Labadie leads OSL in Haydn’s “Farewell” Symphony, the composer’s way of telling his boss that the court musicians wanted to return to their families after an unexpectedly long period of employment—after three bustling movements, it winds down to silence to deliver the message. Paul Lewis joins OSL for Beethoven’s spirited  Piano Concerto No. 2, and emerging soprano Ying Fang soars through Mozart’s melodically splendid concert aria “Non temer, amato bene.”


Joseph Haydn

Overture to L'isola disabitata

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat Major, Op. 19

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

“Non temer, amato bene," K. 490

Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 45 in F-sharp Minor, “Farewell”


Orchestra of St. Luke's

Bernard Labadie

Paul Lewis

Ying Fang