Hélène Grimaud plays Ravel

Thursday, April 18, 2019 at 8:00 PM

Carnegie Hall, Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage
881 Seventh Ave, New York, NY 10019

Hélène Grimaud plays Ravel

The centerpiece of the largely Neo-classical program selected by Pablo Heras-Casado is the much-loved Ravel Piano Concerto in G Major, a brilliant, exuberant work influenced as much by Mozart and Saint-Saëns as by American jazz. It will be performed by one of today’s most-celebrated pianists, Hélène Grimaud. Igor Stravinsky’s two suites for small orchestra (written in 1921 and 1925) were derived from two sets of piano duets he had composed as study pieces for young musicians. The short, four-movement Suite No. 1 combines popular elements, offbeat rhythms, and ironic twists—hallmarks of the composer’s emerging Neo-Classical period. Haydn was not only an influence on his immediate successors but to later composers including 20th-century masters working in the Neo-classical style. Pondering what a symphony in the style of Haydn would sound like if composed in 1917, Prokofiev wrote the effervescent “Classical” symphony—given its name by the composer himself. His brilliant creation emulates Haydn’s scoring and tone, but is firmly-rooted in the 20th century. Bustling outer movements frame a sweet Larghetto followed by the graceful Gavotto, one of Prokofiev’s favorite forms. Haydn has been called the father of the symphony and the inventive “Drumroll,” premiered in 1795—the eleventh of twelve he composed in London—is one of his finest and one of the pieces that, along with works of Mozart, might have inspired Prokofiev’s effervescent “Classical” symphony.

SERGEI PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1 in D Major, Op. 25, “Classical”
MAURICE RAVEL Piano Concerto in G Major
IGOR STRAVINSKY Suite No. 1 for Small Orchestra
JOSEPH HAYDN Symphony No. 103 in E-flat Major, “Drumroll”

Orchestra of St. Luke's
Pablo Heras-Casado, Conductor Laureate
Hélène Grimaud, Piano

Buy tickets
Cost: Subscriptions start at $45